We’ve all got that “friend.” You know the one. The hookup, the plug, whatever you want to call them. They’ve been there for you with the good stuff through thick and thin and we all appreciate their service. But with marijuana laws becoming laxer, both nationwide and at home, you might be wondering if it’s time to cut out the middleman and take matters into your own hands. It’s a thought many stoners have had at one time or another: can (or should) I grow my own weed in here in Missouri?
Many times it’s just a passing thought, but some of you out there might be legitimately wondering. After all, our ancestors lived off the land, and everything just seems better when it’s homemade doesn’t it? So, to answer the question for all of our lovely KC potheads: yes, you can grow your own weed in Missouri.
But, there are several steps required for you to gain approval. Fortunately, we here at 7th Heaven love helping our guests achieve their dreams, so we’re here to give you the 411 on everything you’ll need to grow your own product. We’re nice enough to give this advice for free, but we definitely encourage you to keep us in mind when you’re done harvesting.
Obtain a Medical Marijuana License
Unfortunately, as you probably know, weed isn’t legal recreationally (yet) in Missouri, or Kansas for that matter. Until that magical day comes, you’ll need to obtain a medical marijuana card in the state of Missouri before you can begin growing your own supply.
In order to do that, you’ll need to complete the steps outlined by the Missouri Department of Health. This step includes getting all of the proper forms filled out and signed, including a physician certification, Missouri proof of residency, and other required forms.
When you complete all of your forms, you’ll then need to register for an application. The application fee is $25 and once you submit your application, you’ll hear back from the state within 30 days on whether you’ve been approved for a license.
If you don’t want to apply for a medical marijuana license as a patient, you can also apply as a caregiver. A caregiver is someone 21 years or older who’s responsible for the well-being of a patient with a medical marijuana card.
As a caregiver, you can purchase medical marijuana on behalf of a patient, but you’ll need to fill out your own separate application AND be designated as a caregiver by the patient. A caregiver can have up to 3 patients that they care for. You can also be both a caregiver and a patient yourself.
If you are a qualifying patient, your application will be approved and you will be well on your way to homegrown kush and all of the other goodies that come with a medical marijuana license. Be careful, though. Just because you have a medical marijuana license doesn’t mean you’re free to stock up. Patients have a possession limit of 4 ounces in a 30-day span.
How to obtain a Medical Marijuana License
Obtain a Cultivation License
So now you know how you obtain a medical card. If you want to grow your own weed in Missouri, however, you’ll need to apply for your cultivation license when you apply for your medical marijuana license (and pay the $100 fee). This bad boy is what’s going to ultimately allow you to grow weed in the comfort of your own home.
When applying, you’ll need to specify where in your home you intend to grow your plants. The description needs to be detailed and offer assurances that the location is locked and secured, as well as ensure that it’s only accessible to the patients or caregiver. Like with your medical marijuana license, you should hear within 30 days whether or not you’re approved.
As much as we would love to say a home cultivation card gives you the green light to grow on your terms, that’s not the case. Not that we’ve ever really been the types to follow rules, but we’d prefer to not see our loyal customers arrested if we can help it.
So, with that in mind, here are a few of the key rules you need to remember if you’re approved to grow at home. All of these rules, as well as several others, are all outlined by the Missouri Department of Health.
Some Rules for Home Cultivation
Rule #1: If and when you do get your home cultivation license, you’ll only be allowed to grow with one other person who also has a home cultivation license. You’ll both obviously need your medical marijuana license as well. However, the good news is that both patients and caregivers can have a cultivation license. And it can be any combination of the two, whether it’s two caregivers, two patients, or one of each.
Rule #2: There’s going to be a limit on the number of plants you can grow at home, and it can be kind of confusing so bear with us. If you’re growing by yourself, you’re allowed to have six flowering plants, six non-flowering plants, and six clones in your space.
If another person shares your space with you and they’re a patient, that total doubles. Now you can have 12 of each plant in your space. And if one of the people in your space is the primary caregiver for another patient, you can actually grow up to 18 flowering plants, 18 non-flowering plants, and 18 clones in your space. There are also height limits to consider, as clones can’t be over 14 inches tall.
Rule #3: When you are growing, it’s a rule that all plants must be in a facility that’s both closed and locked. You’ll also need to show all of the security measures you’ve taken at your “facility” to ensure that only you, or you and the person sharing your space with, are the only people with access. You’ll also need to display proper identification at all times in case of inspection.
Keep in mind that these are just a few of the main rules and that these situations are always fluid. We know it’s boring as hell to read all of these documents, but the fine print is important. You need to make sure you’re keeping up with the Department of Health and any rule changes that they enact in order to make sure your operation remains legal.
Rules to remember when cultivating at home
What About Commercial Growing?
Weed is big business, and be honest: how many of us haven’t thought about quitting our jobs at one point or another to grow kush? If that’s a route you’re interested in, just know that there’s a lot more that goes into this than if you were just a patient looking to grow your own weed at home.
For one, the amount of commercial growers in Missouri is limited. Only 60 facilities chosen as of late 2019 out of over 500 total applications. And not only is the process selective, but you’ll need a lot of money to get things off the ground. That includes investing in expensive facilities, which can often cost over $1 million dollars to build, as well as paying a $10,000 non-refundable fee for the application.
If you happen to have that kind of coin and are still interested, we have two questions. First, do you mind sharing? And second, are you ready to really commit to marijuana becoming more than just a fun hobby? Because you’ll need to invest a remarkable amount of time into getting your license and running your operation.
This includes coming up with a comprehensive business plan, applying for the proper licenses and certifications, making sure your facilities (whether they’re indoor, outdoor, or a greenhouse) are up to code and fit within all size regulations, and more. That’s not to mention all of the time and labor you’ll need to invest to grow and harvest your crops.
That’s not to say that all this can’t be done, we’re just saying that you have to be really invested in order to get the entire operation off the ground. Not to mention, you’ll probably have to hire a variety of different people to help you with things like labor, compliance, maintenance, and more.
However, please let us know if you do decide to dive headfirst into growing weed commercially. We’re always available for personal tours.
Once You Start Growing, You Know Where to Go
And that’s to 7th Heaven of course! Come on down to our smoke shop and celebrate your newly found agricultural skills by checking out our wide selection of pipes, bongs, and more. We’ve been the go-to smoke shop in KC for over 45 years and our collection of items is only getting bigger and better.
Kansas City’s wild side is open 11 am to 8 pm Mon-Sat and 11 am to 6 pm Sundays. For everything you need to enjoy your homemade harvest, visit 7621 Troost Ave, Kansas City, MO 64131.
If you can’t make it in person, be sure to check out our online store for all of the latest accessories delivered right to your door. Good luck and happy harvesting!